Per Ola Kristensson | Blog

Other Stuff

Distribution of Nobel Prizes in Sweden

Swedish universities with Nobel Prize-winning faculty:

University Awards Last Award
Karolinska Institute, Stockholm 5 1982
Uppsala University 5 1981
Stockholm University 3 1948
Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm 1 1970
Stockholm School of Economics 1 1977
University of Gothenburg 1 2000

Swedish cities with Nobel Prize-winning faculty:

  • Stockholm: 10 Nobel Prizes
  • Uppsala: 5 Nobel Prizes
  • Gothenburg: 1 Nobel Prize

Source: Nobel Prize Foundation: Nobel Laureates and Universities

Three observations:

  1. Researchers in Uppsala and Stockholm have won all Swedish Nobel Prizes awarded to faculty except one.
  2. Uppsala University is the only Swedish university to have Nobel Prize winners in more than one category. They have won in Chemistry, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine. All winners at Karolinska Institute are in Physiology or Medicine, and all winners at Stockholm University are in Chemistry.
  3. The rate of Nobel Prizes won per decade reached a peak in the 1970s and 1980s. Thereafter it dropped to the same rate as in the 1930s and 1940s. See the figure below.

Leave a Reply